Comfort in the face of the earthquake

I’ve never experienced an earthquake before.  It was a really eerie feeling to have the air and ground moving around me.

I was working at my desk and Lynn was working in the back room at his computer when it started.  At first I just thought it was dynamite being used to get rid of stumps or someone doing construction but it went on way too long for that.  I knew fairly quickly it must be an earthquake and became sure when it didn’t stop.

I admit I was spooked.  I wondered if things were going to start falling (i.e., trees, shelves, whatever).  I quickly looked outside for falling trees (we live in the woods) and was relieved to see none; then I yelled for Lynn.  “Are you okay back there?”  He didn’t answer right away so I quickly went to his room.  He was deep in thought in front of his computer totally ignoring the earthquake.  “Are we having an earthquake?”  “Yes,” he responded very calmly with a smile.  “Do we need to do anything, like get in a doorway or something?”  “No.  This isn’t that bad.  It’s okay.”  He was so calm that I immediately became calm, too.  I felt the comfort of his presence and his assurance.

Being the one who handles almost everything these days, I forget sometimes that he is still my protector and my comforter.  It’s nice to have that reminder.  It felt good to let him be in control for a while.  I miss that.

About mscaregiverdonna

I am a full-time caregiver for my spouse who has Multiple Sclerosis while I try to work full-time, take care of our home, and handle any number of other functions that used to be shared by the two of us. I'm learning that it's amazing what you can do when you have to and when you have God to send you the resources you need to manage moment by moment.
This entry was posted in Ms Journey, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

