Lack of Sleep. The Root of All Evil?

There are a lot of responsibilities and consequences in being a caregiver that I don’t like; things I would prefer not to do or which are difficult to manage, but the biggest challenge I have is lack of sleep. I think that if I had time to sleep more, my life would be a lot different.

Typically, I get five hours of sleep a night. If I were to have an opportunity to sleep through the night without interference, I would probably naturally wake up after nine hours. Nine hours is more like the “sleeping in on Saturday morning” days I remember back before children and back before Lynn became disabled. When I was going into work in the days before Lynn became immobile, I usually got eight hours and certainly at least seven of sleep a night unless someone was sick or we had been up for some special occasion. I remember those days fondly. I felt good. I had energy. I felt rested and refreshed when I awoke each morning ready to take on the day.

I miss those days.

Continue reading at: https://multiplesclerosis.net/caregiver/caregiver-perspective-lack-of-sleep-the-root-of-all-evil/

About mscaregiverdonna

I am a full-time caregiver for my spouse who has Multiple Sclerosis while I try to work full-time, take care of our home, and handle any number of other functions that used to be shared by the two of us. I'm learning that it's amazing what you can do when you have to and when you have God to send you the resources you need to manage moment by moment.
This entry was posted in Emotional Effects, Physical effects and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lack of Sleep. The Root of All Evil?

  1. Rose H says:

    I agree that a lack of sleep comes with dealing with people who are having medical challanges ans kids who have nights and days mixed up.My husband has Mild C.P. and We have five kids with learning challanges and one who had his nights and days mixed up.My husband has had spine surgery and often wakes up still in a lot of pain. He has seen six trips to Hospital and out of that he had two surgeries and about six months in hospital and rehab. I to find my life lacking sleep as I am up many nights due to being in pain myself from Scoliosis and just not being able to sleep.I understand well the many challanges.

  2. Teressa Pearson says:

    Prayers, every day. Love, Teressa

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

